Skip to content

Clinical trials landscape

TL;DR — ClinicalTrials.gov held 1,171 registered studies for irritable bowel syndrome on 2026-09-02: 696 completed, 111 recruiting, 57 not yet recruiting, 17 active but not recruiting, 63 terminated, 24 withdrawn, 185 of unknown status. Only 105 are phase 3 and 80 phase 4; 592 carry no phase designation at all (behavioural, dietary, device and observational studies). Condition-plus-intervention API searches returned 133 probiotic, 97 FODMAP, 50 cognitive behavioural therapy, 37 faecal microbiota transplantation, 26 rifaximin and 27 linaclotide records — i.e. the pipeline is dominated by non-drug and microbiome interventions, not by novel pharmacology. Only 21 phase 3 studies have started since 1 January 2021, and several of those are traditional Chinese medicine trials or paediatric extensions of approved drugs. Large industry phase 2 programmes include camlipixant, a P2X3 antagonist, in IBS-D and IBS-M (NCT07519395, GlaxoSmithKline, n=420), and brenipatide, an investigational subcutaneous drug being tested separately in IBS-D (NCT07545759, n=531) and IBS-C (NCT07545772, n=342) by Eli Lilly. The largest completed trials that changed practice in this era were investigator-led and non-commercial: ATLANTIS (amitriptyline in primary care), CARIBS (diet vs drugs), DOMINO (a smartphone FODMAP app beating an antispasmodic in primary care, 71% vs 61% responders, p=0.03; Carbone 2022, PMID 35483886), and ACTIB (remote CBT). All counts and records in this page were retrieved live from the ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API on 2026-09-02.

The registry at a glance (2026-09-02)

Slice Count
All registered IBS studies 1,171
Completed 696
Recruiting 111
Not yet recruiting 57
Active, not recruiting 17
Terminated 63
Withdrawn 24
Unknown status 185
Phase 1 43
Phase 2 177
Phase 3 105
Phase 4 80
No phase assigned 592
Intervention term Studies
Probiotic 133
FODMAP 97
Cognitive behavioural therapy 50
Faecal microbiota transplantation 37
Rifaximin 26
Linaclotide 27
Hypnotherapy 22
Acupuncture 18
Vagus nerve stimulation 10
Tenapanor 9
Amitriptyline 4
Ebastine 4

The shape of that table is the finding. Four amitriptyline studies exist in the registry for a drug that the largest IBS trial ever run showed to be effective in primary care (gut-brain-neuromodulators); 146 probiotic studies exist for a class whose GRADE certainty is low to very low across almost every analysis (microbiome).

Novel mechanisms in industry development

NCT Agent / mechanism Phase n Status Sponsor Start
NCT07519395 Camlipixant (P2X3 receptor antagonist) vs placebo, abdominal symptoms in IBS-D and IBS-M 2 420 Recruiting GlaxoSmithKline 2026-04-08
NCT07545759 Brenipatide (LY3537031) vs placebo, subcutaneous, IBS-D 2 531 Recruiting Eli Lilly 2026-05-06
NCT07545772 Brenipatide (LY3537031) vs placebo, subcutaneous, IBS-C 2 342 Recruiting Eli Lilly 2026-04-29
NCT06206265 Psilocybin plus psychotherapy, open-label delayed-treatment design 2 14 Active, not recruiting TRYP Therapeutics 2024-01-17
NCT06727422 Rifaximin + N-acetylcysteine (two dose combinations) vs placebo in IBS-D 2 225 Recruiting Mark Pimentel, MD 2026-02-04
NCT06247046 Live SK08 powder (live biotherapeutic) vs placebo in IBS-D 3 1,298 Recruiting Guangzhou Zhiyi Biotechnology 2024-03-16
NCT07168434 Saccharomyces boulardii CNCM I-745 vs placebo 3 406 Recruiting Biocodex 2025-10-22
NCT05815602 Ebastine vs mebeverine (H1-antagonist vs antispasmodic) 3 200 Recruiting Guy Boeckxstaens 2023-03-30
NCT07114055 Ebastine vs placebo in IBS-D 3 60 Recruiting Md. Hazrat Ali 2025-08-15
NCT06221111 Rimegepant (CGRP antagonist) vs placebo for IBS pain 2 39 Completed Mayo Clinic 2024-06-06
NCT07522255 Rifaximin in bloating-predominant functional bowel disorders 3 78 Not yet recruiting Mahidol University 2026-04

P2X3 antagonism is an afferent-nerve mechanism consistent with the visceral-hypersensitivity model (brain-gut-axis-and-visceral-hypersensitivity). The registry does not state brenipatide's molecular target, so no mechanism is inferred here. The ebastine programme is the therapeutic test of the mast-cell/histamine hypothesis and now includes an active-comparator phase 3 against mebeverine (NCT05815602) — worth watching given that mebeverine itself has a null pooled estimate (antispasmodics-and-peppermint).

Paediatric label extensions of approved drugs

NCT Drug Phase n Status Sponsor
NCT04880876 Eluxadoline 25/100 mg in paediatric IBS-D 3 124 Enrolling by invitation AbbVie
NCT05643534 Tenapanor in IBS-C, ages 12 to <18 3 180 Active, not recruiting Ardelyx
NCT05905926 Tenapanor safety, ages 6 to <18, IBS-C 3 150 Enrolling by invitation Ardelyx
NCT06553547 Tenapanor dose-ranging, ages 6 to <12, IBS-C 2 72 Completed Ardelyx
NCT06639984 Psyllium in paediatric IBS 2 110 Recruiting Bruno Chumpitazi, MD

This knowledge base is adult-scoped; these are listed because they represent a substantial share of current commercial phase 3 activity in IBS.

Microbiome interventions

NCT Study Phase n Status Sponsor
NCT04691544 Donor vs autologous FMT for IBS 3 450 Active, not recruiting University Hospital of North Norway
NCT06433180 FMT capsules vs sham in severe IBS 3 150 Not yet recruiting AP-HP, Paris
NCT04014413 Multicondition FMT safety/efficacy platform; 450 total enrollment, IBS subgroup size not stated NA 450 total Recruiting Chinese University of Hong Kong
NCT05803980 FMT for non-constipated IBS NA 35 Recruiting Policlinico Gemelli, Rome
NCT06948461 Freeze-dried oral FMT in IBS-D or recurrent C. difficile 2 63 Not yet recruiting PharmaPlanter Technologies
NCT05633706 SIMBA fluid-biopsy capsule for small-intestinal dysbiosis; 300 total across seven conditions and healthy controls NA 300 total Recruiting Nimble Science
NCT07517029 Gut microbiome in post-infectious IBS Obs. 315 Recruiting Policlinico Gemelli, Rome
NCT06801184 Intestinal microbiota in IBS-C with methane production Obs. 40 Recruiting Hospices Civils de Lyon

The Norwegian donor-vs-autologous phase 3 (NCT04691544, n=450) is the study most likely to resolve the FMT contradiction described on microbiome, because it is powered and uses the design that separates donor effect from procedure effect.

Diet and behavioural interventions

NCT Study n Status Sponsor
NCT04270487 DOMINO: smartphone FODMAP-lowering diet app vs otilonium bromide in primary care 472 Completed (phase 4) KU Leuven
NCT03687814 Low FODMAP + PEG 3350 vs sham diet + PEG 3350 in IBS-C 78 Recruiting University of Michigan
NCT05120752 Low FODMAP in the absence of lactose malabsorption 60 Recruiting UZ Brussel
NCT04974593 Predictive value of lactose breath testing for lactose-free-diet response 90 Recruiting UZ Brussel
NCT06912828 GWAS for genetic predictors of dietary-intervention success (Med-LFD) 100 Recruiting Attikon Hospital
NCT05721742 Virtual dietitian consults within an electronic IBS pathway 76 Recruiting Nova Scotia Health Authority
NCT04133519 Regulora digital gut-directed hypnotherapy vs digital muscle relaxation 378 Completed metaMe Health
NCT03899779 Face-to-face vs online hypnotherapy vs online psychoeducation 282 Completed Maastricht UMC
NCT06297785 Online gut-directed hypnotherapy 50 Completed Sahlgrenska
NCT06866106 WISH 2.0: positive psychology vs educational intervention 50 Recruiting Massachusetts General Hospital
NCT01529567 CBT with vs without exposure therapy 311 Completed Karolinska Institutet
NCT00934973 MIBS: mebeverine, methylcellulose, placebo, CBT website 135 Completed (phase 4) Hazel Everitt
(ACTIB and ATLANTIS) Registered on the ISRCTN registry (ISRCTN44427879 and ISRCTN48075063), not on ClinicalTrials.gov — see psychological-therapy and gut-brain-neuromodulators

DOMINO deserves its result stated: 459 primary-care IBS patients randomised to 8 weeks of otilonium bromide 40 mg three times daily or a smartphone FODMAP-lowering diet app, followed for 24 weeks. Responder rate (IBS-SSS improvement ≥50) at 8 weeks was 71% (155/218) with diet versus 61% (133/217) with otilonium (p=0.03), and 77% vs 62% (p=0.004) in the Rome IV-positive subgroup. Adherence was 94% with diet versus 73% with the drug (p<0.001). The advantage was already present at 4 weeks (62% vs 51%, p=0.02). Predictors of response were female sex for diet (OR 2.08, p=0.04) and PHQ15 for otilonium (OR 1.10, p=0.02). The authors' conclusion: "A FODMAP-lowering diet should be considered the first-line treatment for IBS in primary care" (Carbone 2022, PMID 35483886). Post-hoc analyses have examined subtype effects (Di Rosa 2024, PMID 39086991), inflammatory biomarkers (Tack 2025, PMID 41436948) and eosinophil-driven immune activation (Routhiaux 2026, PMID 41670574).

Neuromodulation devices

NCT / publication Intervention n Status
NCT06090110 Vagal nerve stimulation vs sham 166 Recruiting (Maastricht UMC)
NCT05519683 Home transcutaneous electrical acustimulation vs escitalopram 160 Recruiting (University of Michigan), phase 2/3
NCT07425145 Transcutaneous electrical acustimulation for IBS-D, multicentre 200 Not yet recruiting
Liu 2024, PMID 39689011 Transcutaneous auricular vagus nerve stimulation in IBS-C, single-centre single-blind RCT Published
Veldman 2025, PMID 39867596 Systematic review of vagus nerve stimulation across GI disorders Published
NCT07798180 Transauricular neurostimulation for abdominal pain in DGBI (paediatric) 30 Recruiting

Vagal and acustimulation approaches are the fastest-growing device category, at 11 registered studies. The Michigan trial comparing home acustimulation directly against escitalopram (NCT05519683) is unusual in using an active drug comparator.

What the landscape is missing

  1. Head-to-head licensed-drug comparisons. The 1,171-record registry snapshot contained no trial comparing two drugs both licensed specifically for IBS; the active ebastine-versus-mebeverine trial is a comparison of an investigational repurposing candidate with an antispasmodic (NCT05815602). Licensed-drug rankings therefore remain indirect (constipation-predominant-pharmacotherapy, diarrhoea-predominant-pharmacotherapy).
  2. Neuromodulator versus behavioural therapy in primary care. Targeted PubMed and ClinicalTrials.gov searches on 2026-09-02 retrieved no amitriptyline-versus-CBT trial (OPEN-QUESTIONS.md).
  3. Criteria-stratified trials. The registry snapshot and a targeted PubMed search on 2026-09-02 retrieved no study stratifying treatment response by Rome III/IV/V status (diagnosis-and-rome-criteria).
  4. Prevention of post-infectious IBS. A validated risk score exists (Thabane 2009, PMID 19568228); targeted PubMed and registry searches on 2026-09-02 retrieved no prevention trial using it (post-infectious-ibs).
  5. Open-label placebo as an intervention arm in a pragmatic trial. A targeted PubMed and registry search on 2026-09-02 retrieved no such pragmatic trial, despite three explanatory randomised studies (placebo-response-and-trial-design).
  6. Long-term controlled follow-up. Most drug trials stop at 12–26 weeks in a lifelong relapsing condition; uncontrolled 52-week safety or observational extensions exist for some agents.
  7. Work and social function as primary endpoints. Targeted PubMed and registry searches on 2026-09-02 found work-productivity analyses as secondary/economic outcomes, but no IBS treatment trial with work or social function as the primary endpoint, despite 81.8% overall work impairment (quality-of-life-and-stigma).

Registry hygiene notes

  • 185 of 1,171 studies (15.8%) carry "unknown" status, meaning the record has passed its expected completion date without an update. Any statement about "what is currently being tested" based on registry status alone will overcount active work.
  • 63 terminated and 24 withdrawn studies are recorded; reasons are not systematically comparable.
  • Two of the most influential recent trials in this knowledge base — ATLANTIS and ACTIB — are registered on the ISRCTN registry (ISRCTN48075063 and ISRCTN44427879), not on ClinicalTrials.gov, so a ClinicalTrials.gov-only survey systematically under-represents UK publicly funded trials.

Open questions

  • Will camlipixant (NCT07519395) validate P2X3 antagonism as an IBS mechanism, and if it fails, what does that say about the visceral-hypersensitivity model?
  • Will the Norwegian donor-vs-autologous FMT phase 3 (NCT04691544, n=450) resolve the FMT contradiction?
  • Does ebastine beat placebo — and mebeverine — in adequately powered trials (NCT05815602, NCT07114055)?
  • Why are there 146 probiotic studies and 4 amitriptyline studies for a condition where the tricyclic evidence is stronger?
  • Will any trial adopt Rome V, and will that change measured effect sizes (Staller 2026, PMID 42392123)?
  • Should DOMINO's conclusion — diet first-line in primary care (Carbone 2022, PMID 35483886) — be tested against ATLANTIS's amitriptyline in the same setting?

References

  1. Carbone F, et al. Diet or medication in primary care patients with IBS: the DOMINO study - a randomised trial supported by the Belgian Health Care Knowledge Centre (KCE Trials Programme) and the Rome Foundation Research Institute. Gut. 2022;71(11):2226-2232. PMID 35483886 (NCT04270487)
  2. Di Rosa C, et al. DOMINO trial post hoc analysis: evaluation of the diet effects on symptoms in IBS subtypes. Therap Adv Gastroenterol. 2024;17:17562848241255296. PMID 39086991
  3. Tack C, et al. A study on the utility of inflammatory biomarkers in primary care irritable bowel syndrome: a sub analysis of the DOMINO randomized trial. BMC Gastroenterol. 2025;26:69. PMID 41436948
  4. Routhiaux K, et al. Involvement of Eosinophil-Driven Intestinal Immune Activation in Different Irritable Bowel Syndrome Subtypes and in the Response to a FODMAP Lowering Diet: A Post Hoc Analysis of the Randomized Controlled DOMINO Trial. Gastroenterology. 2026;170(4):818-820. PMID 41670574
  5. Liu J, et al. Efficacy and Safety of Transcutaneous Auricular Vagus Nerve Stimulation in Patients With Constipation-Predominant Irritable Bowel Syndrome. Am J Gastroenterol. 2024;120(9):2139-2153. PMID 39689011
  6. Veldman F, et al. Efficacy of vagus nerve stimulation in gastrointestinal disorders: a systematic review. Gastroenterol Rep (Oxf). 2025;13:goaf009. PMID 39867596
  7. Berry SK, Berry R, Recker D, Botbyl J, Pun L, Chey WD. A Randomized Parallel-group Study of Digital Gut-directed Hypnotherapy vs Muscle Relaxation for Irritable Bowel Syndrome. Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2023;21(12):3152-3159.e2. PMID 37391055 (NCT04133519)
  8. Ford AC, et al. Amitriptyline at Low-Dose and Titrated for Irritable Bowel Syndrome as Second-Line Treatment in primary care (ATLANTIS). Lancet. 2023;402(10414):1773-1785. PMID 37858323 (ISRCTN48075063)
  9. Everitt HA, et al. Assessing telephone-delivered cognitive-behavioural therapy (CBT) and web-delivered CBT versus treatment as usual in irritable bowel syndrome (ACTIB). Gut. 2019;68(9):1613-1623. PMID 30971419 (ISRCTN44427879)
  10. Nybacka S, et al. A low FODMAP diet plus traditional dietary advice versus a low-carbohydrate diet versus pharmacological treatment in irritable bowel syndrome (CARIBS). Lancet Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2024;9(6):507-520. PMID 38643782 (NCT02970591)
  11. Thabane M, Simunovic M, Akhtar-Danesh N, Marshall JK. Development and validation of a risk score for post-infectious irritable bowel syndrome. Am J Gastroenterol. 2009;104(9):2267-74. PMID 19568228
  12. Staller K, et al. The Rome V criteria for the diagnosis of irritable bowel syndrome in secondary care: a diagnostic accuracy study. Lancet Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2026;11(9):812-820. PMID 42392123

Trial registrations cited above (retrieved live from the ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API, 2026-09-02): NCT07519395, NCT07545759, NCT07545772, NCT06206265, NCT06727422, NCT06247046, NCT07168434, NCT05815602, NCT07114055, NCT06221111, NCT07522255, NCT04880876, NCT05643534, NCT05905926, NCT06553547, NCT06639984, NCT04691544, NCT06433180, NCT04014413, NCT05803980, NCT06948461, NCT05633706, NCT07517029, NCT06801184, NCT04270487, NCT03687814, NCT05120752, NCT04974593, NCT06912828, NCT05721742, NCT04133519, NCT03899779, NCT06297785, NCT06866106, NCT01529567, NCT00934973, NCT06090110, NCT05519683, NCT07425145, NCT07798180, NCT02970591.