Clinical trials landscape¶
TL;DR — OA drug-development reviews identify outcome definition, trial setup and placebo response as central challenges; validated biochemical-marker panels may help enrich trials for molecular endotypes, but do not yet prove treatment selection in routine care (Assi 2023, PMID 37067759; Hannani 2024, PMID 38353446).
Decision frame¶
This page was audited against 30 live-refetched PubMed records on 2026-08-31. It distinguishes evidence about diagnosis or symptoms from evidence about structure and does not treat association as proof of treatment effect.
Audit interpretation safeguards¶
- A title establishes what a record studied, not the truth of every topic-adjacent statement.
- Numerical results are used only when present in the live-fetched abstract or the cited report.
- Association is not treated as treatment effect, and a protocol is not treated as a completed trial.
- Systematic reviews inherit heterogeneity in population, intervention, comparator and outcome definition.
Portfolio¶
| Domain | What the evidence supports | What remains uncertain |
|---|---|---|
| Intra-articular development | Current development programs target inflammation, structure and pain; reviews identify outcome definition, trial design and placebo response as unresolved challenges. (Assi 2023, PMID 37067759) | This landscape review does not establish efficacy for any pipeline agent. |
| Metabolic therapy | Semaglutide reduced weight and knee pain in people with obesity, but its possible disease-modifying role through weight loss requires confirmation. (Dell'Isola 2025, PMID 40914550) | The review does not establish structural modification. |
Better trials¶
| Domain | What the evidence supports | What remains uncertain |
|---|---|---|
| Enrichment | Validated biochemical-marker panels may identify molecular endotypes for therapeutic-trial recruitment. (Hannani 2024, PMID 38353446) | Marker-defined recruitment remains a development strategy, not proof of treatment selection in practice. |
| Outcomes | An optimal intra-articular therapy would provide symptom relief while preventing further joint damage; relevant outcome definition remains a trial-design challenge. (Assi 2023, PMID 37067759) | No symptom measure is thereby validated as a structural surrogate. |
Evidence map¶
The table catalogs the retrieved studies used to bound this page. A title establishes the paper’s studied question; detailed numerical use requires the abstract or full text.
| Study | Design signal | Evidence contribution | Main transfer limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| Assi 2023 (PMID 37067759) | review | Innovation in Targeted Intra-articular Therapies for Osteoarthritis. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Evans 2026 (PMID 41607103) | review | Osteoarthritis Gene Therapy: A 30-Year Journey From Concept to Clinical Trials. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Heijman 2026 (PMID 41619152) | journal study | The Potential of Authorised Drugs to be Repurposed for the Treatment of Osteoarthritis: A Scoping Review of Clinical Studies. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Grol 2024 (PMID 38199296) | review | The evolving landscape of gene therapy strategies for the treatment of osteoarthritis. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Miller 2018 (PMID 29361112) | review | What is new in pain modification in osteoarthritis?. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Cai 2021 (PMID 33935742) | review | New Trends in Pharmacological Treatments for Osteoarthritis. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Ehioghae 2024 (PMID 38010488) | review | Exploring Orthopedic Stem-Cell Approaches for Osteoarthritis Management: Current Trends and Future Horizons. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Duong 2025 (PMID 40174718) | meta-analysis | Risk factors for the development of knee osteoarthritis across the lifespan: A systematic review and meta-analysis. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Kim 2023 (PMID 37345256) | randomized trial | Clinical Efficacy and Safety of the Intra-articular Injection of Autologous Adipose-Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells for Knee Osteoart…. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Zhu 2025 (PMID 40455462) | randomized trial | Low-Dose Methotrexate for the Treatment of Inflammatory Knee Osteoarthritis: A Randomized Clinical Trial. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Gregori 2018 (PMID 30575881) | network meta-analysis | Association of Pharmacological Treatments With Long-term Pain Control in Patients With Knee Osteoarthritis: A Systematic Review and …. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Wang 2025 (PMID 41107915) | meta-analysis | Efficacy and safety of platelet-rich plasma injections for the treatment of knee osteoarthritis: a systematic review and meta-analys…. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Lee 2025 (PMID 39874108) | randomized trial | Intra-Articular Injection of Human Bone Marrow-Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells in Knee Osteoarthritis: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Co…. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Dell'Isola 2025 (PMID 40914550) | review | Osteoarthritis year in review 2025: Epidemiology and therapy. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Hochberg 2019 (PMID 31593273) | randomized trial | Effect of Intra-Articular Sprifermin vs Placebo on Femorotibial Joint Cartilage Thickness in Patients With Osteoarthritis: The FORWA…. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Rabade 2024 (PMID 38581640) | meta-analysis | Evaluation of efficacy and safety of glucosamine sulfate, chondroitin sulfate, and their combination regimen in the management of kn…. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Chavda 2022 (PMID 35651409) | review | Role and Effectiveness of Intra-articular Injection of Hyaluronic Acid in the Treatment of Knee Osteoarthritis: A Systematic Review. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Gerwin 2022 (PMID 36456835) | randomized trial | Angiopoietin-like 3-derivative LNA043 for cartilage regeneration in osteoarthritis: a randomized phase 1 trial. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Hannani 2024 (PMID 38353446) | review | From biochemical markers to molecular endotypes of osteoarthritis: a review on validated biomarkers. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Perry 2026 (PMID 42230587) | journal study | Large-scale molecular endotype discovery in synovial fluid reveals osteoarthritis as a single biological continuum. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Zhong 2026 (PMID 42190498) | review | Metabolic syndrome-osteoarthritis axis: Beyond mechanical loading toward a cardiometabolic OA phenotype. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Fortuna 2021 (PMID 33827639) | protocol | Effect of a prebiotic supplement on knee joint function, gut microbiota, and inflammation in adults with co-morbid obesity and knee …. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Del 2025 (PMID 41373603) | review | A Multidimensional Definition of Pre-Osteoarthritis: Toward 21st-Century Subclinical Detection and Targeted Intervention. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Tachmazidou 2019 (PMID 30664745) | journal study | Identification of new therapeutic targets for osteoarthritis through genome-wide analyses of UK Biobank data. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Dong 2026 (PMID 42632595) | review | Disease-Modifying Antirheumatic Drugs for Hand Osteoarthritis: A Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| da 2021 (PMID 34642179) | network meta-analysis | Effectiveness and safety of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and opioid treatment for knee and hip osteoarthritis: network meta…. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Simental-Mendía 2025 (PMID 39212129) | meta-analysis | Effect of collagen supplementation on knee osteoarthritis: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled t…. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| García-Coronado 2019 (PMID 30368550) | meta-analysis | Effect of collagen supplementation on osteoarthritis symptoms: a meta-analysis of randomized placebo-controlled trials. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Filardo 2021 (PMID 32551947) | meta-analysis | PRP Injections for the Treatment of Knee Osteoarthritis: A Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
| Pereira 2022 (PMID 36333100) | meta-analysis | Viscosupplementation for knee osteoarthritis: systematic review and meta-analysis. | Scope is verified from the live record; numerical transfer requires the abstract or full report. |
Completed landmark registrations (verified 2026-08-31)¶
Random first-page recruiting studies are a poor map of what actually changed evidence. These completed or pivotal registrations were re-fetched individually through ClinicalTrials.gov v2 on 2026-08-31:
| NCT | Status at query | What it tested | Linked publication |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCT00381290 | COMPLETED | IDEA diet ± exercise vs exercise | Messier 2013, PMID 24065013 |
| NCT05064735 | COMPLETED, phase 3 | STEP 9 semaglutide 2.4 mg in obesity + knee OA | Bliddal 2024, PMID 39476339 |
| NCT01919164 | COMPLETED, phase 2 | FORWARD sprifermin dose-finding | Hochberg 2019, PMID 31593273 |
| NCT02697773 | COMPLETED, phase 3 | Subcutaneous tanezumab titration, hip/knee OA | Schnitzer 2019, PMID 31265100 |
| NCT03815448 | COMPLETED | Methotrexate in knee OA with effusion-synovitis | Zhu 2025, PMID 40455462 |
| NCT04385303 | COMPLETED, phase 3 | Lorecivivint STRIDES-1 / OA-10 family | Yazici 2025, PMID 39808288 |
| NCT04931667 | TERMINATED, phase 3 | 3-year open-label lorecivivint safety | — |
| NCT01352247 | COMPLETED | TOPKAT UKA vs TKA | Beard 2020, PMID 32369436 |
| NCT00549172 | COMPLETED | FIDELITY arthroscopic meniscectomy | Sihvonen 2013, PMID 24369076 |
| NCT04070027 | ACTIVE_NOT_RECRUITING | THR vs progressive resistance training (hip) | Frydendal 2024, PMID 39476341 |
A condition query restricted to recruiting osteoarthritis studies returned 598 records on 2026-08-31 (first page size 20). Lorecivivint query total was 12; tanezumab-plus-osteoarthritis query total was 22. Registration is not efficacy.
Why OA trials fail structurally¶
Placebo/context effects are large, especially for injections (Zhang 2019, PMID 31621561; Gazendam 2021, PMID 32829298). Structure–symptom discordance means a cartilage-thickness win can be a WOMAC miss (FORWARD) and a pain win can be a joint-safety miss (tanezumab). Molecular-endotype enrichment remains a proposed research strategy rather than a prospectively validated routine selection tool (Hannani 2024, PMID 38353446). Low-dose methotrexate is a completed negative inflammatory-phenotype test (Zhu 2025, PMID 40455462). The published STEP 9 report established weight and pain effects but did not report a nested MRI mediation analysis (Bliddal 2024, PMID 39476339).
Live registered-study snapshot¶
ClinicalTrials.gov v2 was queried live on 2026-08-31 for recruiting, not-yet-recruiting, active-not-recruiting and enrolling-by-invitation osteoarthritis studies. This is a deliberately heterogeneous snapshot, not a claim of efficacy; registry status and entries can change. The status-filtered condition count query returned 1,243 records; all 20 displayed registrations were then fetched individually.
| Registration | Status at query | Study | Intervention(s) | Phase |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| (NCT07245121) | Recruiting | Perineural Prolotherapy in Chronic Knee Osteoarthritis Pain. | Dextrose 5% and Lidocaine, Lidocaine | NA |
| (NCT07475793) | Not Yet Recruiting | Image Guided Genicular Nerve Radiofrequency Ablation for Chronic Knee Osteoarthritis | Ultrasound Guided, Fluoroscope Guided | NA |
| (NCT07315464) | Not Yet Recruiting | Effects of MWM Vs Sustained Mobilization on Knee Osteoarthritis | mulligan moblization, kaltenborn moblization | NA |
| (NCT05785884) | Recruiting | Diet Interventions: Remitted and Evaluated as Complementary Treatments for Pain | Diet | NA |
| (NCT07494838) | Not Yet Recruiting | IMAGES: Identifying Metabolic Imaging Association With Genicular Artery Embolization Success | Embolization | NA |
| (NCT06027697) | Not Yet Recruiting | Prospective Evaluation of Subchondroplasty in Advanced Knee Osteoarthritis. | AccuFill® Porous Bone Substitute Material (BSM) | Not applicable/not reported |
| (NCT04033588) | Not Yet Recruiting | Freedom® Total Knee System for Treatment of Osteoarthritis, Rheumatoid Arthritis or Post-traumatic Arthritis | Freedom® Total Knee System | NA |
| (NCT04111718) | Active Not Recruiting | The Impact of Procedural Awareness of Knee Injections for Osteoarthritis on Patient Perceptions of Effectiveness | Platelet-rich plasma (PRP), Viewing of preparation | PHASE4 |
| (NCT07003113) | Recruiting | Ischemic Preconditioning in Osteoarthritis and Back Pain | Ischemic Preconditioning, Sham Intervention | NA |
| (NCT06681142) | Recruiting | Pharmacist-physiotherapist Collaborative Management for Early Knee Osteoarthritis | Pharmacy-Physiotherapy Intervention | NA |
| (NCT04618016) | Active Not Recruiting | Evaluation of Medium Cross-linked Polyethylene With and Without Vitamin E for Total Knee Arthroplasty | UHMWPE with Vitamin E, UHMWPE without Vitamin E | Not applicable/not reported |
| (NCT07337863) | Not Yet Recruiting | Phase II/III Randomized Trial of UC-MSC Secretome vs Sodium Hyaluronate in Knee Osteoarthritis | UC-MSC-Derived Secretome, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyalein) | PHASE2, PHASE3 |
| (NCT03522025) | Active Not Recruiting | GMK-UNI Anatomical UKA: Fixation of Cemented vs Cementless Designs | Unicompartmental Knee Arthroplasty (UKA) | NA |
| (NCT07666347) | Recruiting | Intraarticular Injection of Botox and Hyaluronic Acid in Knee Osteoarthritis | Hyaluronic acid, Botulinum toxin type A | NA |
| (NCT07755579) | Active Not Recruiting | Effect of Autologous Ear Cartilage Micrografting in Knee Osteoarthritis | Mytocel MSK - Autologous Ear Cartilage Micrografting | NA |
| (NCT05848622) | Recruiting | Gait Rehabilitation to Treat FastOA | Real-time gait biofeedback, Sham real-time gait biofeedback | NA |
| (NCT04928170) | Active Not Recruiting | The Halland Osteoarthritis Cohort | Observational/no assigned intervention | Not applicable/not reported |
| (NCT05986292) | Recruiting | A Master Protocol Study (LY900028) of Multiple Intervention-Specific-Appendices (ISAs) in Participants With Chronic Pain | LY3016859 ISA, LY3556050 ISA, LY3526318 ISA, LY3857210 ISA, Placebo Oral, Placebo | PHASE2 |
| (NCT06574191) | Recruiting | The Effects of Patient and Visit Characteristics on Health Outcomes in Knee Osteoarthritis | Topical Diclofenac gel 1% | NA |
| (NCT07113028) | Active Not Recruiting | Comparison of the Effectiveness of Conventional and Pulse Radiofrequency Therapy in Advanced Knee Osteoarthritis in Elderly Patients: An Observational Study | Observational/no assigned intervention | Not applicable/not reported |
Interpretation: the active portfolio spans analgesic procedures, rehabilitation, topical drugs, orthobiologics, embolization, implants and observational cohorts. Registration establishes that a study was listed; it does not establish recruitment quality, completion, publication or benefit.
Audit disposition¶
| Check | Result |
|---|---|
| PubMed identifiers | 41/41 unique PMIDs resolved in the 2026-08-31 independent live E-utilities fetch |
| ClinicalTrials.gov identifiers | 30/30 NCT IDs resolved individually and matched in the 2026-08-31 independent v2 API fetch |
| Author / year / journal | Matched to live PubMed metadata; ePub/print offsets tolerated |
| Claim review | Every remaining claim-to-citation pairing was checked against the live-fetched abstract or registry record; unsupported rows were deleted and overbroad claims were narrowed. No substantive citation issue remains. |
| ## Open questions |
- Can OA trials measure contextual effects rather than hide them (OQ-11)? (Zhang 2019, PMID 31621561)
- What estimand for rescue, crossover and delayed surgery should DMOAD phase 3 require after OA-11 and Skou? (Yazici 2025, PMID 39808286; Skou 2015, PMID 26488691)
- Will a nested MRI/load analysis of STEP 9 close the structure question (Dot 1)? (Bliddal 2024, PMID 39476339)
- Does lorecivivint’s terminated 3-year open-label (NCT04931667) leave a durability hole that OA-11’s 52-week JSW cannot fill?
Related pages¶
- disease-modifying-therapies — complementary evidence and decision context.
- biomarkers-and-imaging-markers — complementary evidence and decision context.
- injections-and-orthobiologics — complementary evidence and decision context.
References¶
- Assi R, Quintiens J, Monteagudo S, et al. Innovation in Targeted Intra-articular Therapies for Osteoarthritis. Drugs. 2023;83(8);649-663. PMID 37067759
- Evans CH, Ghivizzani SC, Robbins PD. Osteoarthritis Gene Therapy: A 30-Year Journey From Concept to Clinical Trials. J Orthop Res. 2026;44(2);e70141. PMID 41607103
- Heijman MWJ, Hartog M, van den Ende CHM, et al. The Potential of Authorised Drugs to be Repurposed for the Treatment of Osteoarthritis: A Scoping Review of Clinical Studies. Drugs. 2026;86(3);359-376. PMID 41619152
- Grol MW. The evolving landscape of gene therapy strategies for the treatment of osteoarthritis. Osteoarthritis Cartilage. 2024;32(4);372-384. PMID 38199296
- Miller RE, Block JA, Malfait AM. What is new in pain modification in osteoarthritis? Rheumatology (Oxford). 2018;57(suppl_4);iv99-iv107. PMID 29361112
- Cai X, Yuan S, Zeng Y, et al. New Trends in Pharmacological Treatments for Osteoarthritis. Front Pharmacol. 2021;12;645842. PMID 33935742
- Ehioghae M, Vippa TK, Askins D, et al. Exploring Orthopedic Stem-Cell Approaches for Osteoarthritis Management: Current Trends and Future Horizons. Curr Pain Headache Rep. 2024;28(1);27-35. PMID 38010488
- Duong V, Abdel Shaheed C, Ferreira ML, et al. Risk factors for the development of knee osteoarthritis across the lifespan: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Osteoarthritis Cartilage. 2025;33(10);1162-1179. PMID 40174718
- Kim KI, Lee MC, Lee JH, et al. Clinical Efficacy and Safety of the Intra-articular Injection of Autologous Adipose-Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells for Knee Osteoarthritis: A Phase III, Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial. Am J Sports Med. 2023;51(9);2243-2253. PMID 37345256
- Zhu Z, Yu Q, Leng X, et al. Low-Dose Methotrexate for the Treatment of Inflammatory Knee Osteoarthritis: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Intern Med. 2025;185(7);808-816. PMID 40455462
- Gregori D, Giacovelli G, Minto C, et al. Association of Pharmacological Treatments With Long-term Pain Control in Patients With Knee Osteoarthritis: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. JAMA. 2018;320(24);2564-2579. PMID 30575881
- Wang C, Yao B. Efficacy and safety of platelet-rich plasma injections for the treatment of knee osteoarthritis: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Eur J Med Res. 2025;30(1);992. PMID 41107915
- Lee BW, Lee JJ, Jung JY, et al. Intra-Articular Injection of Human Bone Marrow-Derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells in Knee Osteoarthritis: A Randomized, Double-Blind, Controlled Trial. Cell Transplant. 2025;34;9636897241303275. PMID 39874108
- Dell'Isola A, Recenti F, Giardulli B, et al. Osteoarthritis year in review 2025: Epidemiology and therapy. Osteoarthritis Cartilage. 2025;33(11);1300-1306. PMID 40914550
- Hochberg MC, Guermazi A, Guehring H, et al. Effect of Intra-Articular Sprifermin vs Placebo on Femorotibial Joint Cartilage Thickness in Patients With Osteoarthritis: The FORWARD Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2019;322(14);1360-1370. PMID 31593273
- Rabade A, Viswanatha GL, Nandakumar K, et al. Evaluation of efficacy and safety of glucosamine sulfate, chondroitin sulfate, and their combination regimen in the management of knee osteoarthritis: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Inflammopharmacology. 2024;32(3);1759-1775. PMID 38581640
- Chavda S, Rabbani SA, Wadhwa T. Role and Effectiveness of Intra-articular Injection of Hyaluronic Acid in the Treatment of Knee Osteoarthritis: A Systematic Review. Cureus. 2022;14(4);e24503. PMID 35651409
- Gerwin N, Scotti C, Halleux C, et al. Angiopoietin-like 3-derivative LNA043 for cartilage regeneration in osteoarthritis: a randomized phase 1 trial. Nat Med. 2022;28(12);2633-2645. PMID 36456835
- Hannani MT, Thudium CS, Karsdal MA, et al. From biochemical markers to molecular endotypes of osteoarthritis: a review on validated biomarkers. Expert Rev Mol Diagn. 2024;24(1-2);23-38. PMID 38353446
- Perry TA, Deng Y, Hulley PA, et al. Large-scale molecular endotype discovery in synovial fluid reveals osteoarthritis as a single biological continuum. Nat Commun. 2026;17(1);4721. PMID 42230587
- Zhong J, Yang G. Metabolic syndrome-osteoarthritis axis: Beyond mechanical loading toward a cardiometabolic OA phenotype. Biomed Pharmacother. 2026;200;119583. PMID 42190498
- Fortuna R, Hart DA, Sharkey KA, et al. Effect of a prebiotic supplement on knee joint function, gut microbiota, and inflammation in adults with co-morbid obesity and knee osteoarthritis: study protocol for a randomized controlled trial. Trials. 2021;22(1);255. PMID 33827639
- Del Río E. A Multidimensional Definition of Pre-Osteoarthritis: Toward 21st-Century Subclinical Detection and Targeted Intervention. Int J Mol Sci. 2025;26(23);11447. PMID 41373603
- Tachmazidou I, Hatzikotoulas K, Southam L, et al. Identification of new therapeutic targets for osteoarthritis through genome-wide analyses of UK Biobank data. Nat Genet. 2019;51(2);230-236. PMID 30664745
- Dong P, Zhao Q, Yang B, et al. Disease-Modifying Antirheumatic Drugs for Hand Osteoarthritis: A Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis. Hand Surg Rehabil. 2026;102762. PMID 42632595
- da Costa BR, Pereira TV, Saadat P, et al. Effectiveness and safety of non-steroidal anti-inflammatory drugs and opioid treatment for knee and hip osteoarthritis: network meta-analysis. BMJ. 2021;375;n2321. PMID 34642179
- Simental-Mendía M, Ortega-Mata D, Acosta-Olivo CA, et al. Effect of collagen supplementation on knee osteoarthritis: an updated systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials. Clin Exp Rheumatol. 2025;43(1);126-134. PMID 39212129
- García-Coronado JM, Martínez-Olvera L, Elizondo-Omaña RE, et al. Effect of collagen supplementation on osteoarthritis symptoms: a meta-analysis of randomized placebo-controlled trials. Int Orthop. 2019;43(3);531-538. PMID 30368550
- Filardo G, Previtali D, Napoli F, et al. PRP Injections for the Treatment of Knee Osteoarthritis: A Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials. Cartilage. 2021;13(1_suppl);364S-375S. PMID 32551947
- Pereira TV, Jüni P, Saadat P, et al. Viscosupplementation for knee osteoarthritis: systematic review and meta-analysis. BMJ. 2022;378;e069722. PMID 36333100
- Messier SP, Mihalko SL, Legault C, et al. IDEA diet-and-exercise trial. JAMA. 2013;310:1263-73. PMID 24065013
- Bliddal H, Bays H, Czernichow S, et al. Once-weekly semaglutide in persons with obesity and knee osteoarthritis. N Engl J Med. 2024;391:1573-1583. PMID 39476339
- Schnitzer TJ, Easton R, Pang S, et al. Effect of tanezumab on joint pain, physical function, and patient global assessment. JAMA. 2019;322:37-48. PMID 31265100
- Yazici Y, Tambiah JRS, Swearingen CJ, et al. Phase 3 OA-10 lorecivivint in moderately to severely symptomatic knee OA. Clin Exp Rheumatol. 2025;43:847-853. PMID 39808288
- Beard DJ, Davies LJ, Cook JA, et al. TOPKAT RCT. Health Technol Assess. 2020;24:1-98. PMID 32369436
- Sihvonen R, Paavola M, Malmivaara A, et al. Arthroscopic partial meniscectomy versus sham surgery. N Engl J Med. 2013;369:2515-24. PMID 24369076
- Frydendal T, Christensen R, Mechlenburg I, et al. Total hip replacement or resistance training for severe hip osteoarthritis. N Engl J Med. 2024;391:1610-1620. PMID 39476341
- Zhang W. The powerful placebo effect in osteoarthritis. Clin Exp Rheumatol. 2019;37 Suppl 120:118-123. PMID 31621561
- Gazendam A, Ekhtiari S, Bozzo A, et al. Intra-articular saline injection is as effective as corticosteroids, PRP and hyaluronic acid for hip OA pain. Br J Sports Med. 2021;55:256-261. PMID 32829298
- Skou ST, Roos EM, Laursen MB, et al. A randomized, controlled trial of total knee replacement. N Engl J Med. 2015;373:1597-606. PMID 26488691
- Yazici Y, Tambiah JRS, Swearingen CJ, et al. Phase 3 OA-11 lorecivivint. Clin Exp Rheumatol. 2025;43:854-860. PMID 39808286